DIY Watercolor mug

If you have seen any of my Whole30 posts you will notice a common theme in my breakfast pictures. MUGS! I am a collector of awesome mugs..I can’t help myself, I have a serious problem lol.

I have seen this DIY watercolour mug tutorial all over Pinterest and wondered if it really worked as easily as they say. I decided to give it a go myself, what’s one more mug right?

What you will need:
*A white mug (I got mine at the dollar store)
*Nail polish, 2 colors if you want an awesome look
*Toothpick
*A deep plastic container
*Lukewarm water
*Paper towel

What Now?
Fill your container with lukewarm water, you need enough to cover the mug without completely submerging it. Take your nail polish and pour a little bit of the first color into the water and allow it to spread out a bit. Do the same with your second color. Swirl the two colors a bit with your toothpick and then dunk your mug into the water. The nail polish will stick to the mug and when you pull it out of the water you will have an awesome,one of a kind mug! I turned my mug upside down and placed on some paper towel.Let it dry 2-3 hours and pat with a paper towel (do NOT wipe!). The design will not hold up in a dishwasher so make sure you wash it gently by hand.

image-5

Last but not least fill with coffee.. become human (that’s what I do!)

~Jenn

3 thoughts on “DIY Watercolor mug

Leave a Reply

